Tripura Votes On Sunday; Meghalaya, Nagaland Also Ready For Elections


Tripura Votes On Sunday; Meghalaya, Nagaland Also Ready For Elections

Security forces patrol a street at a village ahead of assembly elections in Nagaland.

Assembly elections in Left Front-ruled Tripura will be held on February 18, while people in Meghalaya and Nagaland will vote on February 27. Counting of votes in all the three states in the north-east is on March 3. The model code of conduct is in force in the three states since January 19. All the three states have 60 seats each in their assembly. The Congress is in power in Meghalaya, the Left Front is running Tripura and the Naga People’s Front in alliance with the BJP is in charge in Nagaland. BJP leaders have been the north-east in recent times to firm up election plans. The Congress is also looking to strengthen its presence in the region, which the BJP has been taking inch by inch with the victories in Assam and Manipur in the last two years.

Here are the updates of the assembly elections in Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland:

Electronic voting machines (EVMs) and voter-verifiable paper trail (VVPAT) will be used in the assembly elections in Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland, Chief Election Commissioner AK Joti had said. He said election officials have made good efforts to assure basic facilities and arrangements for people with special needs to help them vote. Voter assistance desk will be set up at every polling station, Mr Joti said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here